What is the biggest game in the world?

What is the biggest game in the world?

The word is frequently connected with hunting the "Big Five" of Africa (lion, African elephant, Cape buffalo, African leopard, and rhinoceros), as well as tigers and rhinoceroses on the Indian subcontinent. Many additional large game species are hunted, including kudu, antelope, and hartebeest. However, none of these animals rank among the five most popular trophies in Africa.

The two largest games are held in South Africa and China. The annual meeting known as the World Game Summit was launched by conservation organization WWF in 2004 with the aim of discussing issues surrounding wildlife trade and crime at which time representatives from more than 100 countries come together to discuss ways to improve conservation efforts throughout the world. The summit is held every other year and has been held in Europe (2006) and Asia (2008). It is scheduled to return to North America in 2012.

The International Convention for the Conservation of Mammals Used for Hunting and Trade (CITES) was founded in 1973 by 12 nations to protect endangered species by regulating trade in their products. Today, it includes 175 member states and territories, covering almost half of the planet's population. Its work is done through consensus, so if one country decides not to sign a treaty or agreement, it can't be implemented by the others.

Mammal meat is consumed as food in many parts of the world, particularly in Asia but also in Africa.

What animals count as "big game"?

Many other species of big game are hunted, including kudu, antelope, and hartebeest. Whales, moose, elk, caribou, bison, mule deer, brown bear, and white-tailed deer are the largest game hunted in North America, where most big-game hunting is conducted today. Smaller game includes rabbits, quail, grouse, dove, and turkeys.

Elk are the largest animal counted as big game in Canada. Moose are larger than elk but not as large as wapiti (elk). Bighorn sheep are also used for sport hunting but are not considered a resource population so do not receive protection under Canadian law.

The term "big game" originally referred to large land animals that were useful for food or clothing and thus worthy of pursuit by hunters who wanted to display their skill and win prestige. Today it usually refers to terrestrial mammals greater than about 1.8 meters (6 feet) tall and weighing more than 50 kg (110 lbs). Most big game are hunted with a rifle from a standing position, though some species may be taken with a bow and arrow or crossbow. A few species, such as leopards and lions, are hunted with a gun. Big game may be killed with a single bullet to the head or chest, but often they are killed by multiple bullets to ensure death. If left alive, animals can suffer for hours or days before dying of trauma or exposure.

What big game animals are there in Australia?

There are no large game animals in Australia. Early European immigrants killed kangaroos, dingoes (wild dogs), and emus (for plumage) in the same way as indigenous hunters had; deer were introduced but did not prosper. Fox hunting has been practiced on a periodic basis. Fishing remains the most popular sport among Australians.

Large game animals include buffalo, elephant, lion, leopard, moose, rhino, tiger, and walrus.

Australia is home to several species of venomous snakes including death adders, fer-de-lances, and taipans. The main animal threat to humans is from crocodiles. There are three types of crocodile in Australia: saltwater, freshwater, and Chinese crocodiles. Saltwater crocodiles can reach 12 feet long and weigh over 2200 pounds. They live in estuaries and marine environments along the eastern coast of Australia from Victoria to South Carolina. They are capable of moving rapidly by jumping from wave to wave and may attack people who get in their way. Freshwater crocodiles are found in northern Australia where they can be found near lakes and rivers. They can grow to 7 feet long and weigh about 400 pounds. Chinese crocodiles are found in southern China, Vietnam, and parts of Indonesia. Although they can grow to 10 feet long and weigh about 500 pounds, they are not considered dangerous to humans.

What is the definition of "big game"?

Hunting and fishing, particularly for enjoyment, are used to seek for and capture rather large creatures. 2: a crucial aim, particularly when there is a danger involved. 3: an important event or occasion.

Thus, a big game animal is one that is highly sought after by hunters for sport. They can be dangerous if threatened or attacked, but they usually don't bite humans unless severely provoked. Big game animals include lions, elephants, rhinos, leopards, cheetahs, and tigers. Smaller animals sometimes called "game" include rabbits, rodents, birds, and fish.

In North America, the term "big game" applies only to large mammals. In other parts of the world, such as Africa, Asia, and Oceania, "big game" includes all large animals, no matter what their species may be. Smaller animals are referred to as "small game."

In Africa, large animals include antelopes, gazelles, zebras, elephants, hippos, crocodiles, and lions. Smaller animals include monkeys, lemurs, rodents, and birds.

In Australia, large animals include kangaroos, wallabies, emus, and cassowaries.

What is the largest game reserve in the world?

The world-renowned Kruger National Park is South Africa's greatest wildlife refuge, with almost 2 million hectares (4.9 million acres) of unrivaled wilderness and animal territory, and is home to not just the Big Five, but also more large mammal species than any other African game reserve. It is also one of only a few places on Earth where elephants, rhinos, lions, leopards, and buffaloes all live together in the same region.

Kruger is part of a group of protected areas known as the Greater Kruger Area. The other major reserves within this grouping are Phinda Private Game Reserve, which is smaller but still significant in size; Madikwe Game Reserve, which is much smaller yet again; and Manado Beach Nature Reserve, which is primarily coastal forest but also includes several small sandy beaches.

All four of these reserves share a common management plan that aims to maintain natural levels of biodiversity by prohibiting commercial hunting and fishing within their boundaries. They also work together to prevent animals from entering private property and they use helicopter patrols and dog teams to search for trespassers. There have been instances where this has led to incidents of elephant poaching within the reserves, but this is rare.

Overall, the Greater Kruger Area protects some of the most important habitat in South Africa while also providing visitors with some of the biggest names in wildlife.

About Article Author

James Morris

James Morris is a nature enthusiast and wildlife lover. He has spent years studying animals and their behaviors, gaining as much knowledge as possible about them. James wants to apply what he knows about animals to aid in the survival of wild species by supplying them with what they require to be healthy and happy animals.


BrownfieldSummit.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Related posts